How will schools be identified for intervention?

Regardless of Title status, Washington State requires interventions for low performing schools. Beginning in the 2017-18 school year, states will be required to identify two categories of schools.

Comprehensive Schools

  • Lowest 5% of Title I schools, HSs with less than a 67% 4-year graduation rate, and schools where sub-groups consistently underperform (or additional categories at the discretion of the State)
  • Identified once every three years and state determines exit criteria
  • Districts responsible for school improvement plans
  • “Construction clause” allows for collective bargaining around any interventions or support plans
  • State must take more rigorous action if schools fail to improve after 4 years

Targeted Schools

  • Sub-groups of students consistently underperform or perform as poorly as the lowest performing schools
  • Identified annually and state defines exit criteria
  • Schools responsible for school improvement plan
  • District must take action for schools that fail to improve within a district determined number of years.
  • Resources must be used to target services to underperforming group rather than the whole school.
  • What if I work in a Priority or Focus school?

    Until the full transition to ESSA in the 2017-18 school year, schools identified for intervention under NCLB will continue to provide student supports. Schools that score in the lowest 5% of achievement (Priority Schools) or have sub-groups in the lowest 5% (Focus Schools) will continue to provide supports to their students as outline in their 2015-16 school improvement plan.  Learn more in our 2016-2017 ESSA transition FAQ.

    Under NCLB, Priority Schools were eligible to apply for a School Improvement Grant. Washington's Cohort I was funded in 2010, Cohort II 2011, and Cohort III in 2014. Under ESSA, the School Improvement Grant program is eliminated but states will be required to set aside more of their Title I dollars for school improvement.

  • Required action districts

    OSPI is required to annually recommend to the State Board of Education (SBE) school districts to be designated as Required Action Districts (RADs) under RCW 28A.657.020 and RCW 28A.657.030. RADs have at least one persistently low achieving school.

    Once designated a RAD, a required action plan must be submitted to the SBE for approval by the Superintendent and local school board. This plan must be developed in collaboration with administrators, teachers and other staff; parents; unions representing any employees within the district; students; and other representatives of the local community. Any provisions of the required action plan that impact collective bargaining agreements require the re-opening of the agreement of the negotiation of an addendum, if needed to implement the plan.

  • Additional Title I provisions under ESSA

    • Schoolwide programs may use funds for preschool and dual or concurrent enrollment at the secondary level.
    • Title I A schoolwide and targeted programs will continue. However, districts may request waivers from the State to implement a Title I schoolwide program with less than 40% qualifying students (schools with less than 40% and no waiver may continue to provide targeted intervention services). Schoolwide program plans are developed at the building, not district level.
    • When ranking their schools for prioritization of services, districts can lower the threshold for high schools from 75% qualifying students to 50% (75% requirement for elementary and middle schools maintained)
    • Districts may reserve more than 1% of their Title I funds for parental and family outreach
    • State must provide assistance to local districts on areas such as early childhood education, teacher equity, bullying prevention, effective discipline practices, dropout prevention, and assisting children who are homeless or in foster care