Filter Articles

Legislative Report Card

Back to Blog

WEA began the 2019 legislative session with an ambitious list of pro-education, pro-labor priorities to support students, educators, higher education students and faculty, as well as education retirees. 

We had several significant victories, and, as always we still have more work ahead. 

The progress and gains made this session for our students, schools and educators is directly related to having pro-education, pro-labor legislators who listen to our needs and work to solve them. This year, we’ve put together a report card to highlight our education champions, as well as those who need to improve. 

The WEA’s Legislative Report Card measures the legislators overall support for public education and educators, with each legislator receiving an A, B, C, D, or F. Letter grades are based on their voting records on selective votes in the legislative session and on additional criteria:

  • Sponsorship or co-sponsorship of bills critical to advancing WEA’s identified legislative priorities
  • Accessibility and support of the legislator in Olympia
  • Accessibility and support of the legislator in the Legislative District
  • Behind-the-scenes work to support WEA’s priorities
  • Support for labor’s collective bargaining rights
District Name Party Legislative House Final Grade
Washington House of Representatives
1 Shelley Kloba D House A
1 Derek Stanford D House A
2 Andrew Barkis R House C
2 J.T. Wilcox R House C
3 Timm Ormsby D House A
3 Marcus Riccelli D House A
4 Bob McCaslin R House D
4 Matt Shea R House F
5 Lisa Callan D House A
5 Bill Ramos D House A
6 Mike Volz R House C
6 Jenny Graham R House D
7 Joel Kretz R House C
7 Jacquelin Maycumber R House D
8 Matt Boehnke R House B
8 Brad Klippert R House F
9 Mary Dye R House F
9 Joe Schmick R House F
10 Dave Paul D House A
10 Norma Smith R House F
11 Steve Bergquist D House A
11 Zack Hudgins D House A
12 Mike Steele R House C
12 Keith Goehner R House D
13 Alex Ybarra R House C
13 Tom Dent R House D
14 Gina Mosbrucker R House C
14 Chris Corry R House D
15 Bruce Chandler R House D
15 Jeremie Dufault R House D
16 Skyler Rude R House C
16 Bill Jenkin R House D
17 Paul Harris R House B
17 Vicki Kraft R House F
18 Larry Hoff R House D
18 Brandon Vick R House F
19 Brian Blake D House A
19 Jim Walsh R House F
20 Richard DeBolt R House C
20 Ed Orcutt R House D
21 Lillian Ortiz-Self D House A
21 Strom Peterson D House A
22 Beth Doglio D House A
22 Laurie Dolan D House A
23 Sherry Appleton D House A
23 Drew Hansen D House A
24 Mike Chapman D House A
24 Steve Tharinger D House A
25 Chris Gildon R House D
25 Kelly Chambers R House F
26 Michelle Caldier R House D
26 Jesse Young R House D
27 Jake Fey D House A
27 Laurie Jinkins D House A
28 Mari Leavitt D House A
28 Christine Kilduff D House A
29 Steve Kirby D House A
29 Melanie Morgan D House B
30 Mike Pellicciotti D House A
30 Kristine Reeves D House A
31 Morgan Irwin R House C
31 Drew Stokesbary R House C
32 Lauren Davis D House A
32 Cindy Ryu D House A
33 Mia Gregerson D House A
33 Tina Orwall D House A
34 Eileen Cody D House A
34 Joe Fitzgibbon D House A
35 Drew MacEwen R House B
35 Dan Griffey R House D
36 Noel Frame D House A
36 Gael Tarleton D House A
37 Eric Pettigrew D House A
37 Sharon Tomiko Santos D House A
38 June Robinson D House A
38 Mike Sells D House A
39 Carolyn Eslick R House F
39 Robert Sutherland R House F
40 Debra Lekanoff D House A
40 Jeff Morris D House B
41 My-Linh Thai D House A
41 Tana Senn D House A
42 Sharon Shewmake D House A
42 Luanne Van Werven R House F
43 Frank Chopp D House A
43 Nicole Macri D House A
44 Jared Mead D House A
44 John Lovick D House A
45 Larry Springer D House A
45 Roger Goodman D House A
46 Gerry Pollet D House A
46 Javier Valdez D House A
47 Debra Entenman D House A
47 Pat Sullivan D House A
48 Vandana Slatter D House A
48 Amy Walen D House A
49 Monica Jurado Stonier D House A
49 Sharon Wylie D House A
Washin​gton Senate
1 Guy Palumbo D Senate C
2 Randi Becker R Senate D
3 Andy Billig D Senate A
4 Mike Padden R Senate F
5 Mark Mullet D Senate F
6 Jeff Holy R Senate D
7 Shelly Short R Senate F
8 Sharon Brown R Senate F
9 Mark Schoesler R Senate F
10 Barbara Bailey R Senate F
11 Bob Hasegawa D Senate A
12 Brad Hawkins R Senate F
13 Judy Warnick R Senate D
14 Curtis King R Senate C
15 Jim Honeyford R Senate D
16 Maureen Walsh R Senate C
17 Lynda Wilson R Senate F
18 Ann Rivers R Senate F
19 Dean Takko D Senate A
20 John Braun R Senate F
21 Marko Liias D Senate A
22 Sam Hunt D Senate A
23 Christine Rolfes D Senate A
24 Kevin Van De Wege D Senate A
25 Hans Zeiger R Senate D
26 Emily Randall D Senate A
27 Jeannie Darneille D Senate A
28 Steve O'Ban R Senate F
29 Steve Conway D Senate A
30 Claire Wilson D Senate A
31 Phil Fortunato R Senate F
32 Jesse Salomon D Senate A
33 Karen Keiser D Senate A
34 Joe Nguyen D Senate A
35 Tim Sheldon D Senate F
36 Reuven Carlyle D Senate B
37 Rebecca Saldana D Senate A
38 John McCoy D Senate A
39 Keith Wagoner R Senate D
40 Liz Lovelett D Senate A
41 Lisa Wellman D Senate A
42 Doug Ericksen R Senate F
43 Jamie Pedersen D Senate A
44 Steve Hobbs D Senate B
45 Manka Dhingra D Senate A
46 David Frockt D Senate A
47 Mona Das D Senate A
48 Patty Kuderer D Senate A
49 Annette Cleveland D Senate B
Back to Blog

Subscribe to our Blog

Subscribe to stay informed.

Filter Blog Posts

Apply Filter


Related Posts