Filter Articles

Educators at trio of Washington schools win NEA grants

Back to Blog

The NEA announced a new round of grant recipients this week and educators from a trio of Washington schools were among the winners.

  • Jolyn Collie, a work site learning coordinator, and co-applicant Tony Shaver, of Clark County Vocational Skills Center in Vancouver received a $5,000 Learning and Leadership Gran to learn how to develop a project-based learning curriculum that will be incorporated into 17 career field programs at their school.

  • Cynthia Larson-Faragalli, an English Language Learners (ELL) educator, and co-applicant Kathryn Sprague, of View Ridge Elementary School in Bremerton received a $2,000 Student Achievement Grant to partner ELLs with high-performing students to explore wildlife habitats for a project and presentation.

  • Julie Wickersham, a para-educator, and co-applicant Dave Walk, of Lincoln Middle School in Clarkston received a $5,000 Student Achievement Grant to allow students to produce videos about positive behavior. The videos will enhance students’ multimedia skills and wellness.

Over the past decade, the NEA Foundation has invested more than $7.1 million in teaching grants to support the work of almost 4,500 educators from every state in the country to help students succeed. 

The NEA Foundation awards its grants to educators three times a year. The next education grant deadline is February 1, 2016. Application forms and a video with step-by-step instructions on how to apply can be found in the Grants to Educators section of the NEA Foundation website.

Back to Blog

Subscribe to our Blog

Subscribe to stay informed.

Filter Blog Posts

Apply Filter


Related Posts