2022-24 WEA Committees and Contacts

Benefits Services Advisory Board (BSAB)

Monitor transition process to the state medical insurance program (SEBB).

  • Chair Dan Gossett
  • Committee members: Eric Askeland, Kathie Axtell, Monika Christensen, Swan Eaton, Deb Hansen, Steve Mayer, Andi Nofziger-Meadows

Budget and Finance Committee

Receives a report and/or recommendation on the budget prior to each board meeting. Makes recommendations as needed for the WEA Board and WEA Representative Assembly. Reviews audits.

  • Co-Chairs Janie White
  • Committee members: Kathie Axtell, Shawn Brehm, Vallerie Fisher, Justin Fox-Bailey, Tani Lindquist, Shawna Moore, Audra Shaw, Jeremy Shay, Keith Swanson, Pamela Wilson

Change, Innovation and Achievements Committee (CIA)

Develops strategies and make recommendations to the WEA Board to promote quality education for students Pre-K through Graduate School.

  • Co-Chairs Shannon Rasmussen and Filma Fontanilla
  • Committee members: Michael Cook, Debby Chandler, Jennifer Collins, Daniel Harada, Glenn Jenkins, Anna-Melissa Lyons, Howard Mawhinney, Cameron Munro, Elizabeth Ward-Robertson

Children’s Fund Board

Oversees the activities of the Children’s Fund and makes recommendations for systemic changes to sustain the fund.

  • Chair Janie White
  • Committee members: Barb Cruz, Cookie Grant-Suggs, Mary Lindsey, Kirsten Nicholson, Jan Olmstead, Marilyn O'Malley-Hicks, Martha Patterson, Yelonda Wilke

Classified Dues Work Team

Reviews the classified dues.

  • Chair Debby Chandler
  • Committee members: Kathie Axtell, Jen Ben, Joshua Boe, Aneeka Ferrell, Vallerie Fisher, Jan Olmstead

Credentials Work Team

Prepares report and/or recommendations concerning procedures for registration of delegates and alternates for the RA.

Documents and Resolutions Work Team

Organizes the business of the Representative Assembly in consultation with the President.

  • Co-Chairs Deb Hansen and Audra Shaw
  • Committee members: Kathy Casey, Mark Craypo, Julianna Dauble, Thomas Fairchild, Antoinette Felder, Lynn Maiorca, Cerra Sand, Zack Stockdale, Joe Thayer, Matt Yeager

ESA Committee

Provides advice to local union leadership and WEA staff on matters pertaining to ESA Professionals (Education Support Associates).

  • Chair Carrie Suchy
  • Committee members: Mary Bauer, Genie Charvet, Sharon Conrad, Teasha Corrado, Paul Diaz, Dotty Handley, Amy Lineaweaver, Jenny Morgan, Kirsten Nicholson, Melissa Peterson, Denise Reddinger, Kim Senger, Jennifer Thor, Sarah Willsie, Lupe Wolfe

ESP Action Coordinating Team (ACT)

Advocate for and advise education support professional (ESP) locals.

  • Co-Chairs Debby Chandler and Vallerie Fisher
  • Committee members: Kathie Axtell, Shodea Chapman, Barb Cruz, Antoinette Felder, Mary Hilton, Pamella Johnson, Jan Olmstead, Brenda Overdorff, Alisha Rasmussen, Marla Rasmussen, Jacob Robinson, Patrice Robinson, Valisia Simpson, Yelonda Wilke

Executive Committee

Responsible for exercising the general authority of the WEA Board of Directors as needed between regular meetings of the Board. 

Health and Safety Committee

Works with members, staff, school districts, parents and community groups to improve and make school buildings safe and healthy for staff and students.

  • Chair Sandy Hunt and Barb Cruz
  • Committee members: Jen Ben, Silas Berry, Joe Bento, Arielle Brown, Amy Campbell, Julianna Dauble, Gina Harada, Tim Martin, Liz Pray, Alisha Rasmussen, Jill Rock, Robert Sanchez, Suzanne Southland, Jennifer Vandever

Hearing and Appeals Board

Provides a formal channel by which members can appeal a decision by WEA staff denying WEA funding for a grievance or legal case.

  • Co-Chairs Martha Patterson and Jim Schell
  • Committee members: Jeb Binns, Justin Fox-Bailey, Vallerie Fisher, Michael Cook, Margarita Morfin, Nicole Way, Terri Winkler, Pamella Johnson

Human and Civil Rights Committee (HCR)

Committee designed to plan and develop long-term solutions for our members to better reflect the students that we educate. 

  • Co-Chairs Shawna Moore and Anita Benitez
  • Committee members: James Alexander, Brett Allen, Buddy Bear, Silas Berry, Kaitlin-Kamalei Brandon, Shawn Brehm, Devon Del Rosario, Aneeka Farrell, Filma Fontanilla, Katie Hayes, Pamella Johnson, Krystle Lyons, Megan Miles, Summer Stoner, Cam Swarts, JD Sweet

Legislative Strategy Committee

Committee that designs short- and long-term strategies to achieve positive legislative impact for the WEA membership.

  • Co-Chairs Jenn Black and Jared Kink
  • Committee members: Amy Campbell, Debby Chandler, Marj Hogan, Pamella Johnson, Mary Lindsey, Rebecca Lewis, Bill Lyne, Sue Nightingale, John Richardson, Patrice Robinson, Sandra Robinson, Audra Shaw

NEA Convention Work Team

Plans and coordinates WEA’s participation in the NEA Representative Assembly.

  • Chair Andrea Fuller
  • Committee members: Debby Chandler, Mary Clift, Mark Cole, Mark Craypo, Pam Fuelling, Debra Hansen, Maria Lee, Michael Lewis, Ray Nelson, Tim Voie

Nominations and Elections Work Team

Coordinates notification and procedures of Association nominations and elections and tabulate ballots.

  • Chair Eric Pickens
  • Committee members: Jennifer Collins, Penny Cramer, Bob Gustin, Autumn Morrison, Zack Stockdale

Small Rural Committee

Engages small and/or rural locals to meet association needs and develops paths for connections to the council and state organizations.

  • Co-Chairs Shawn Brehm and Anna-Melissa Lyons
  • Committee members: Michael Alfred, Lori Byrnes, Michelle Fayette, Anne Ford McGrath, Brandon Howard, Anne Johnannsen, Karl Johnson, Pamella Johnson, Peter Knowles, Katie Leppanen, Eric Pickens, Caitlin Tumlinson, Cathleen WIlder

WEA Academy 

Approves requests from instructors for WEA to provide clock hours for their training.

WEA Convention Work Team

Plans and coordinates the WEA Representative Assembly.

  • Chair Maria Lee
  • Committee members: Janet Calwell, Thom Garrard, Brittney Haggard, Peter Henry, Amanda Lackey, Tim Martin, Jennifer Matter, Courney Mense, Cameron Munro, Jan Olmstead, Cerra Sand, Wally Watson